Three hundred international organizations signed a human rights statement calling for lifting the restrictions on the movement of Palestinians in the occupied West Bank, at a debate hosted by the United Nations Human Rights Council (UNHRC)

The debate was held in Wednesday evening, 14th March 2012, in Geneva, during the 19th  session of the Human Rights Council, to display the Israeli violations in the occupied Palestinian territories in which the  The Euro-Mediterranean Human Rights Monitor (Euro-Med Monitor) was called to present a report about these violations.

The regional director of the Euro-Med Monitor, Miss Amani Senwar, presented a detailed explanation on the major human rights violations committed by Israel, in light of the recent escalation in the Gaza Strip. The statement summarized the suffering of the population in the occupied territories in the West Bank due to the unjustified Israeli restrictions on their lives.

Miss Senwar presented a concise speech about the report prepared by theEuro-Med Monitor, entitled “Restricted Hopes”, which investigated the Israeli restrictions of the Palestinians right in the West Bank. According to the report, 4000 cases have been prevented from traveling in 2011. The report called the UHRC and the international human rights organizations to carry out their responsibilities in imposing pressure on Israel to lift the restrictions imposed on the movement of the Palestinians.

300 non-governmental organizations responded to the call of Euro-Med Monitor and declared an official statement  by UHRC via the General Assembly of the United Nations and its Secretary-General, Mr. Ban Ki-moon, in which the issue of restricting the Palestinians right of travel will be further investigated to find a legal solution.

It should be mentioned  that Euro-Med Monitor, has received another invitation to participate in the formal meeting of UHRC, next Monday, to provide a summary of the most prominent Israeli violations of Palestinian human rights of the occupied Palestinian Territories, in which it will be discussed by the 48 member countries .